Our Stories
 Charles Ahlgren WB6IYM
 Jonathan Kramer W6JLK
 Ronald Erickson K0IC
 Jeff Angus WA6FWI 
 Rob Atkinson K5UJ 
 Steve Ewald WV1X
 Rick Andersen KE3IJ
 Dennis Drew W7RVR
 Greg Harris WB9MII 
 David Collingham K3LP
Tim Madden KI4TG
 Cliff Cheng, AC6C
1951 - 1955
1956 - 1960
1961 - 1965
1966 - 1970
1971 - 1975
1976 - 1980
1981 - 1990
1991 - 2000

Cliff Cheng, AC6C
(Formerly WN6JPA, 1975)

1975: An Example of One of Last of the Distinct Novice Callsigns

Last of the "N" Call Signs

Editor's Note: Above is one of the two novice licenses issued to me by the FCC. Originally the FCC gave me WN6JPA in 1975. Not long after that, that call was rescinded, along with all WN# callsigns. It was replaced with a regular callsign, WA6JPA. The term of the license was still 2 years non-renewable. I was not given more privileges, nor did I lose any. FCC suddenly dropped the distinct WN# calls. The reason I later heard was that given the state of technology in those days, it was difficult to keep a particular prefix restricted to a certain license class.